Tamil Nadu Top Poll Official Recommends Re-Polling In 10 Stations


Re-polling has been recommended in one polling station falling under the Cuddalore constituency (File)


Tamil Nadu Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo on Sunday said he has recommended to the Election Commission to conduct re-polling in 10 polling stations in the state.

The top election official told reporters in Tamil Nadu capital Chennai that after a perusal of reports of authorities including those from the general observers and presiding officers, re-poll has been recommended for the consideration of the EC.

Eight polling stations falling under the Lok Sabha segment of Dharmapuri and one booth under Tiruvallur Parliamentary constituency have been recommended for re-polling, he said.

Also, re-polling has been recommended in one polling station falling under the Cuddalore Lok Sabha constituency.

The CEO's comment assumes significance in the wake of alleged irregularities in a number of booths falling under these constituencies when the polling was held on April 18.

In polling stations under the Lok Sabha segments of Dharmapuri and Tiruvallur, re-polling has been recommended for both Parliamentary elections and bypolls to the Assembly seats of Pappireddipatti and Poonamallee.

Tiruvallur Lok Sabha segment covers Poonamallee Assembly constituency and Dharmapuri includes Pappireddipatti Assembly seat.

By-polls were held to 18 Assembly seats including Poonamallee and Pappireddipatti on April 18 along with polls to 38 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu.

Polling for Vellore Lok Sabha constituency was rescinded following seizure of cash ahead of the elections.

Get the latest election news, live updates and election schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on ndtv.com/elections. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the 2019 Indian general elections.

Source Article