Himachal Pradesh Central University To Get Permanent Campuses

- Advertisement -

Central University of Himachal Pradesh became functional on January 20, 2010.


According to BJP MP Anurag Thakur, Union Human Resource Development or HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar will lay the foundation of two campuses of the Central University of Himachal Pradesh on February 21. Mr Thakur, who represents the Hamirpur Lok Sabha constituency, has also said the foundations for two campuses will be laid in Dharamsala and Dehra.

The university, established in 2010, has been functioning out of temporary campuses in Shahpur and Dharamsala, both in Kangra district, according to Press Trust of India.

Read: Over 3,500 Students To Participate In Cultural Fest Starting Tuesday

- Advertisement -

Currently, the university has 11 schools which include Business & Management Studies, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Education, Fine Arts & Art Education, Humanities & Languages, Journalism, Mass Communication & New Media, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Computers & Information Sciences, Physical & Material Sciences, Tourism, Travel and Hospitality Management, and Social Sciences.

Read: CBSE Board Exams: Model Answers For Class 10th, 12th Core Subject Papers

The University is established under the Central Universities Act 2009 (No. 25 of 2009) enacted by the Parliament. The University is funded and regulated by the University Grants Commission (UGC).

Read: Will Bring Ordinance If Supreme Court Rejects Review Petition: Prakash Javadekar On Reservation In Universities

The University became functional with the assumption of charge by the first Vice Chancellor on January 20, 2010.

Read: 3 Indian Student Teams Vie For Top Slot In Microsoft's Asia Talent Hunt Contest

Click here for more Education News

Source Article